Founded in 1995, the Iowa Credit Union Foundation (ICUF) is the philanthropic arm of the Iowa credit union movement and the Iowa Credit Union League.

Mission. We empower people and communities to achieve financial well-being by championing the credit union philosophy of ‘people helping people’.

Vision. To be the leader in facilitating collaborative initiatives and the hub for credit union philanthropy.

What We Do:

  • We advocate the people helping people philosophy.

  • We collaborate with credit unions and community partners to provide resources for financial well-being. 

  • We invest in grants and scholarships.



Jaimie Miller, Executive Director

Jaimie Miller serves as the Executive Director of the Iowa Credit Union Foundation where she works to empower people and communities to achieve financial well-being by championing the credit union philosophy of people helping people. Jaimie has spent the last 10 years working in the political and nonprofit arenas. Jaimie is a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa where she received her BA in Political Science and Public Policy and Drake University where she completed her Masters of Public Administration. Jaimie is a 2014 graduate of the Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute CLP Program, was recognized in 2015 by the Business Record as a top Forty Under 40 in Iowa and was a 2016/2017 finalist for the Des Moines YP of the Year award. In her time away from work, Jaimie enjoys spending time with her family and volunteering in the community.

Jelena Babic Barnes, Program Manager

Jelena "Ena" Babic Barnes joined the ICUF team as a Program Manager in 2020. Before coming to ICUF, Ena worked in the non-profit sector in Europe for more than 12 years, helping non-profits, business support organizations and institutions develop programs and activities. She's also focused on helping organizations attain financial and institutional support - allowing them to achieve sustainability and growth. Ena has an undergraduate degree in International Relations from the Faculty of Political Sciences, University of Belgrade. 

Joe Montez, Administrative Assistant

Joe Montez is an administrative assistant for ICUF and Affiliates Management Company. He is responsible for managing ICUF governance matters, the Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence (ICADV) grant program and various matched giving programs. Prior to his current position, Joe was an Art History Teaching Assistant at the University of Iowa School of Art and Art History. He also has multiple years of experience in the hospitality industry. Joe earned his BA in History and Art History from St. Ambrose University, and MA in Art History from the University of Iowa. 

Annual Reports

Annual Report.PNG

With the continued support of the credit union industry, collaborative partners and donors, ICUF leads the facilitation of collaborative initiatives and champions credit union philanthropy.

Click to see our annual reports by year: 20192018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

Board of Directors


The Iowa Credit Union Foundation Board of Directors serve a three-year term. This 15-member board represents the interests of Iowa's credit unions and their 1.3 million members. Board members are elected by the Board of Directors.​

Ex-Officio Members

​Jeff Hayes, North Star Community Credit Union

Jason Norton, DuTrac Community Credit Union

Helen Pearce, Cedar Falls Community Credit Union

Board Chair: Ann McMillian, IH Mississippi Valley Credit Union

Vice Chair: Marian Holmes, Community 1st Credit Union​

Treasurer: Keith Mesch, Veridian Credit Union​

Secretary: Jordan Hensley, Peoples Credit Union

Alejandro Alaniz, Collins Community Credit Union

Jim Anderson, Des Moines Metro Credit Union​

Mary Bontrager, Greater Des Moines Partnership

Adam Carroll, National Financial Educators

Donna Dyer-Bischoff, CUNA Mutual Group

Angela Drury, 1st Gateway Credit Union

Danielle Gratton, Dupaco Community Credit Union

Jennifer Naeve, Ascentra Credit Union​

Rebecca Neades, GreenState Credit Union

Paula O'Rourke, Linn Area Credit Union

Julie Willse, Greater Iowa Credit Union

What are credit unions?

Credit unions are not-for-profit, financial cooperatives owned and governed by their members. Earnings are returned to members through better rates and fewer fees. Unlike other financial institutions, this cooperative structure allows credit unions to put people before profits.  

What does this mean for Iowa? Iowa credit unions provide their 1.3 million members with $100 million in annual savings compared to what they would have paid for similar services at a bank. Credit unions also provide direct impact for the communities in which they operate and contribute $1.25 billion to the state economy. Visit to learn more.

To learn about credit unions' operating principles, cooperative structure, history and more, visit the National Credit Union Foundation's "Exploring Our Values" web-course.